Board of Directors

Current Board & Committee Agendas

For agendas from previous years, click here.

Judy RitterJudy Ritter

Board Chair
Vista Mayor Judy Ritter has been a business owner and resident in the community for over four decades. She has served as an Encina Wastewater Authority Board Member since 2003. She also represents Vista on SANDAG as a former board member and current Transportation Committee member. Since Judy was elected to the City Council in 1998 and elected Mayor in November, 2010, and again in 2014, the City of Vista has moved forward with its vision to keep the City financially stable, to invest in the community, and to provide local residents and business owners the many recreational, cultural, and business opportunities available to them.

Mark MuirMark Muir

Board Vice Chair
Mark has served on many community regional boards including: San Dieguito and Olivenhain Water Districts, San Diego County Water Authority, San Diego North Economic Development Council, and San Diego Association of Governments. The San Diego Taxpayers Association's  "Golden Watchdog Award" recognized his efforts in saving millions in taxpayer dollars. The Encinitas Chamber of Commerce honored him as a "Community Hero" and the New Encinitas Network named him a "Top 25 Leader in the Past 25 Years."

Amanda RigbyAmanda Rigby

Amanda Rigby is a hardworking and dedicated Councilwoman, elected to the Vista City Council in November 2012. Councilwoman Rigby has been appointed as the City's representative to the League of California Cities, serving on the Policy Committees for Housing, Community, & Economic Development and Revenue & Taxation.

Keith BlackburnKeith Blackburn

Current Carlsbad City Councilman and 29-year police officer (21 years with the Carlsbad Police Department) Keith Blackburn holds a Master's degree in organizational management from the University of Phoenix. Keith has championed many successful projects improving Carlsbad’s quality of life and increasing the revenue base. Keith believes that spending less time in traffic and putting fewer pollutants into the air means a better quality of life for everyone.

Michael SchumacherMichael Schumacher

Active in public service, Mr. Schumacher serves on the Carlsbad City Council and on several San Diego regional committees, such as the SANDAG Board of Directors. Mr. Schumacher is currently on the Real Estate Advisory Board of North County Health Services, a non-profit health-care organization and is a member of the Carlsbad Chamber of Commerce.

Jim HernandezJim Hernandez

Jim is an architect and small business owner and has lived in San Marcos for over 40 years. After serving in the United States Marine Corp, Jim attended Palomar College while working locally. Jim continued his education at California State Polytechnic University (Cal Poly, Pomona). He was a San Marcos Planning Commissioner for 14 years, past president of the San Marcos Chamber of Commerce, Boys & Girls Club of San Marcos and Palomar College Foundation. During these past years Jim has been a community volunteer on various San Marcos City task force and community projects.

Craig ElitharpCraig Elitharp

Craig Elitharp retired from the Rancho California Water District in June of 2014 with over 24 years of experience in the roles of Civil Engineer, Operations Manager, and Director of Operations and Maintenance. Particular areas of expertise include water and wastewater facilities planning, design and construction; water/wastewater utilities operations and maintenance; energy management; and water rights. Mr. Elitharp also has 6 years prior experience as a Civil Engineer with the U.S. Forest Service on national forests in Arkansas and Virginia and 4 years as a Civil Engineer in water and wastewater utilities with the U.S. Navy Public Works Center in San Diego. Mr. Elitharp is a 1979 Magna Cum Laude graduate of the College of Environmental Sciences and Forestry at Syracuse University, where he obtained a BS in Forest Engineering. He is a Registered Civil Engineer in the State of California and holds California State Water Resources Control Board Division of Drinking Water certifications as a Grade 5 Water Distribution Operator and Grade 3 Water Treatment Operator. Mr. Elitharp has resided in the Walnut Hills neighborhood of San Marcos since 1988 with his wife Diana.

Catherine BlakespearCatherine Blakespear

Encinitas Mayor Catherine S. Blakespear is a fourth-generation Encinitas resident who also works as an attorney. In November 2014, after four years on the Encinitas Traffic & Public Safety Commission, she was elected to a four-year term on the Encinitas City Council. After two years that included a stint as Deputy Mayor, she ran a successful campaign to become the second elected Mayor of Encinitas, and was sworn in for a two-year term on December 13, 2016.

Elaine SullivanElaine Sullivan

Mrs. Sullivan joined the Board in 1988 and was most recently re-elected in 2014. Her term expires in 2018. She is a resident of the La Costa area of Carlsbad. She is retired from her previously owned interior decorating business in Carlsbad. She represents the District on the Encina Wastewater Authority Board of Directors as the Chair and is on EWA’s Policy & Finance Committee. She also serves on the California Special District Association (CSDA) Membership and Education Committees.

Allan JuliussenAllan Juliussen

Mr. Juliussen joined the Board in 2005, but also served on the Board from 1992-2004. He was most recently re-elected in 2013 and his term expires in 2016. Mr. Juliussen is a resident of the Leucadia area of Encinitas and is a retired licensed general contractor in the commercial construction industry. He represents the District on the Encina Wastewater Authority (EWA) Board of Directors and EWA Capital Improvement Committee. He also serves on the Encinitas School District Oversight Committee.

As an environmental leader, EWA provides reliable and fiscally responsible water resource recovery services to the communities of Northwest San Diego County.

Together, we are a model of excellence and innovation.


  • CWEA San Diego Section - Plant of the Year
  • EPA Green Power Partner
  • NACWA Peak Performance Award
  • Government Financial Officers
         Association CAFR Award

Contact Us

Encina Wastewater Authority
6200 Avenida Encinas
Carlsbad, CA 92011

  (760) 438-3941